Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff

A lasting passion

A passion for horses and riding is something that Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff has possessed from birth. She was born in Düsseldorf on 1st August 1960 and is the daughter of Liselott Linsenhoff, the famous dressage rider. Her grandfather, VDO magnate Adolf Schindling, founded the competition yard Schwarz-Gelb (Black-Yellow) in Kronberg.

Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff was given her first pony when she was three years old; at 15 she was already competing in the German Championships.

She celebrated her first title wins in 1981: that year she was part of the winning team at the European Junior Championships in Rotterdam and gained a bronze medal in the individual competition. She has enjoyed international renown since the 1987 European Championships that were held in England, where she won individual silver and team gold. These successes were followed by team gold at the 1988 Olympics in Seoul and further titles.

Always looking ahead

But Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff never concentrated exclusively on dressage. In 1987 she graduated in veterinary studies from Giessen University, and in 1991 her son Moritz was born. This marked the start of a quieter period for the rider, although she continued to take part in competitions.

Her mother, described by Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff as “my idol”, died in 1999. She was the first woman to achieve Olympic gold in dressage at the Munich Games in 1972.

At this point a new phase in Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff’s private and sporting life began: in August 2001 her daughter Liselott-Marie was born, and shortly afterwards the sportswoman rode her way back to world-class success with her new horses Renoir-UNICEF, Wahajama-UNICEF and Sterntaler-UNICEF. Then, at the beginning of 2007, a protracted borrelia infection that was diagnosed too late forced the Olympic champion to give up active competition earlier than planned.

But she cannot and does not want to give up her passion entirely. And so Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff still rides every day with her husband Klaus-Martin Rath and enjoys the feeling of working with top-class horses.

“The best way of predicting the future is to help shape it”

Another key part of Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff’s life is her social commitment. In 2002 the mother of two set up the Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff UNICEF Foundation under the umbrella of UNICEF. Since then she has already managed to raise more than 4 million euros for children in need.

Since April 2008 Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff has also been on the committee of UNICEF Germany, of which she is deputy chairman.



Podcast

NDR Info - Der Talk:
Karin Belmer interviews Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff

> Listen now <
Die Erfolge

Galery

Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff

Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff

Nie ohne Begeisterung

Die Begeisterung für Pferde und den Reitsport bekam Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff in die Wiege gelegt. Als Tochter der berühmten Dressurreiterin Liselott Linsenhoff wurde sie am 1. August 1960 in Düsseldorf geboren. Ihr Großvater, der VDO-Unternehmer Adolf Schindling, gründete den Turnierstall Schwarz-Gelb in Kronberg.

Mit drei Jahren bekam Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff ihr erstes Pony geschenkt, mit 15 ritt sie bereits bei der Deutschen Meisterschaft.

Ihre ersten Titelgewinne feierte sie 1981: Damals siegte sie mit der Mannschaft bei der Junioren-EM in Rotterdam und holte Bronze im Einzel. International anerkannt ist die Reiterin seit der EM 1987 in England, als sie Einzel-Silber und Gold mit dem Team gewann. Es folgten der Mannschafts-Sieg bei Olympia 1988 in Seoul und weitere Titel.

Immer mit Blick nach vorn

Doch Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff konzentrierte sich nie ausschließlich auf den Dressursport. Sie legte 1987 ihr Examen als Tierärztin in Gießen ab, 1991 wurde ihr Sohn Moritz geboren. Danach wurde es ruhiger um die Reiterin, obwohl sie weiter bei Turnieren startete.

1999 starb ihre Mutter, die Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff als "mein Idol" bezeichnet - sie hatte 1972 in München als erste Frau einen Olympiasieg im Dressurreiten gefeiert.

Privat wie sportlich begann dann ein neuer Lebensabschnitt: Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff lernte ihren zweiten Mann Klaus-Martin Rath kennen und im August 2001 kam ihre Tochter Liselott-Marie zur Welt. Kurz darauf ritt die Sportlerin mit ihren neuen Pferden Renoir-UNICEF, Wahajama-UNICEF und Sterntaler-UNICEF zurück in die Weltspitze. Eine verschleppte und zu spät entdeckte Borrelien-Infektion zwang die Olympiasiegerin Anfang 2007 dann aber zur frühzeitigen Aufgabe des aktiven Turniersports.

Aufgeben kann und will sie die Leidenschaft aber nicht gänzlich: So sitzt Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff noch immer jeden Tag gemeinsam mit ihrem Ehemann Klaus-Martin Rath im Sattel und genießt das Gefühl, absolute Spitzenpferde in der Arbeit erleben zu dürfen.

„Der beste Weg, die Zukunft vorherzusagen, ist, sie gemeinsam zu gestalten“

Ein anderen Schwerpunkt im Leben von Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff ist ihr soziales Engagement. 2002 gründete die zweifache Mutter die Ann-Kathrin-Linsenhoff-UNICEF-Stiftung unter dem Dach von UNICEF. Über 4 Millionen Euro konnte sie seither so schon für Kinder in Not sammeln.

Seit April 2008 übernimmt Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff auch Vorstandsaufgaben als stellvertretende Vorsitzende von UNICEF Deutschland. Im Juni 2014 wurde sie in diesem Amt bestätigt.



Podcast

NDR Info - Der Talk:
Karin Belmer im Gespräch mit Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff

> anhören <
Die Erfolge

Galerie

Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff